Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 

Author Topic: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread  (Read 1875 times)

johnnystress

  • Member
  • Bionic Fingers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6510
    • View Profile
    • blog
Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« on: 29 August, 2010, 09:14:06 AM »
Not sure who to contact so I thought I'd post here- My anti-virus is suggesting that there's something nasty there linking to screen-power.com


w3bz

  • System Administrator
  • Prog Stacking Droid
  • *****
  • Posts: 505
  • Grumble...
    • View Profile
Re: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« Reply #1 on: 29 August, 2010, 11:46:25 AM »
Ahh was Van Dom's post on scantily clad Asians - Screen-power.com is indeed a flagged site. I've swapped out the image of Van's to the same image hosted elsewhere - should be OK now  ;)

Van Dom

  • Member
  • Posting Machine
  • ***
  • Posts: 1991
  • It's only life, we all get through it.
    • View Profile
    • The Van Domain
Re: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« Reply #2 on: 29 August, 2010, 12:48:31 PM »
Oops!!! Sorry bout that!
1 copy of Vanguard issue 1 left! 10 copies of issue 2! Issue 3 in production for September release! CHECK IT OUT HERE!
And please like our new Facebook page  HERE! Thanks!

w3bz

  • System Administrator
  • Prog Stacking Droid
  • *****
  • Posts: 505
  • Grumble...
    • View Profile
Re: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« Reply #3 on: 29 August, 2010, 05:32:34 PM »
No worries, we can't let Malware stand between us and underwear now can we?  ;)

Emperor

  • Administrator
  • Bionic Fingers
  • *****
  • Posts: 7869
  • Divine Wind
    • View Profile
    • Me at Tumblr
Re: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« Reply #4 on: 29 August, 2010, 05:51:49 PM »
if I went 'round saying I was an Emperor just because some moistened bint had lobbed a scimitar at me, they'd put me away!

Fractal Friction | Tumblr | Google+

Mardroid

  • Member
  • Battle Hardened War Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 3943
    • View Profile
Re: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« Reply #5 on: 06 November, 2010, 03:02:36 AM »
Rather than post a new thread I figured I'd post this here.  I got a malware warning for the Garth Ennis Planes and Boys thread.

Emperor

  • Administrator
  • Bionic Fingers
  • *****
  • Posts: 7869
  • Divine Wind
    • View Profile
    • Me at Tumblr
Re: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« Reply #6 on: 06 November, 2010, 03:35:40 AM »
Rather than post a new thread I figured I'd post this here.  I got a malware warning for the Garth Ennis Planes and Boys thread.

Any particular page?
if I went 'round saying I was an Emperor just because some moistened bint had lobbed a scimitar at me, they'd put me away!

Fractal Friction | Tumblr | Google+

Colin_YNWA

  • Member
  • Bionic Fingers
  • *****
  • Posts: 5521
    • View Profile
Re: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« Reply #7 on: 06 November, 2010, 07:07:26 AM »
Rather than post a new thread I figured I'd post this here.  I got a malware warning for the Garth Ennis Planes and Boys thread.

Any particular page?

I got it trying to link from 'View unread posts'

Emperor

  • Administrator
  • Bionic Fingers
  • *****
  • Posts: 7869
  • Divine Wind
    • View Profile
    • Me at Tumblr
Re: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« Reply #8 on: 06 November, 2010, 08:45:45 PM »
Rather than post a new thread I figured I'd post this here.  I got a malware warning for the Garth Ennis Planes and Boys thread.

Any particular page?

I got it trying to link from 'View unread posts'

And what page did you land on?

The only thing I could see that might be a possible problem is the hotlinked image in Proudhuff's post with comes from Broken Frontier (although their site is above board so...):

http://www.2000adonline.com/forum/index.php/topic,23383.msg543745.html#msg543745
if I went 'round saying I was an Emperor just because some moistened bint had lobbed a scimitar at me, they'd put me away!

Fractal Friction | Tumblr | Google+

Colin_YNWA

  • Member
  • Bionic Fingers
  • *****
  • Posts: 5521
    • View Profile
Re: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« Reply #9 on: 07 November, 2010, 07:35:38 AM »
The url stays as

http://www.2000adonline.com/forum/index.php/topic,23383.0.html

But the screen goes largely red and says Malware warning the link goes to sites affected by Malware. It is something from 'Brokenfrontier.com' that is the risk apparently.

Emperor

  • Administrator
  • Bionic Fingers
  • *****
  • Posts: 7869
  • Divine Wind
    • View Profile
    • Me at Tumblr
Re: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« Reply #10 on: 07 November, 2010, 03:11:47 PM »
The url stays as

http://www.2000adonline.com/forum/index.php/topic,23383.0.html

But the screen goes largely red and says Malware warning the link goes to sites affected by Malware. It is something from 'Brokenfrontier.com' that is the risk apparently.

Thanks for that, I've removed the image from Proudhuff's post.

Again could I remind people not to hotlink to other sites (ones that aren't image hosting sites or your own) as it is considered bad form because you are stealing their bandwidth (and possibly copyrighted work) but it also throws out security warnings like this if there is concern about the site hosting the image.
if I went 'round saying I was an Emperor just because some moistened bint had lobbed a scimitar at me, they'd put me away!

Fractal Friction | Tumblr | Google+

Colin_YNWA

  • Member
  • Bionic Fingers
  • *****
  • Posts: 5521
    • View Profile
Re: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« Reply #11 on: 07 November, 2010, 06:52:37 PM »
When you say hot link, excuse my ignorance do you mean when you get the URL for an image on another site from the properties option of that image and post it as an image here?

If not can you explain so I make sure I don't do it.

Cheers

Emperor

  • Administrator
  • Bionic Fingers
  • *****
  • Posts: 7869
  • Divine Wind
    • View Profile
    • Me at Tumblr
Re: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« Reply #12 on: 07 November, 2010, 11:48:15 PM »
When you say hot link, excuse my ignorance do you mean when you get the URL for an image on another site from the properties option of that image and post it as an image here?

Yes.

See:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hotlinking#Controversial_uses_of_inline_linking
if I went 'round saying I was an Emperor just because some moistened bint had lobbed a scimitar at me, they'd put me away!

Fractal Friction | Tumblr | Google+

Dog Deever

  • Member
  • Evil Cyborg
  • ****
  • Posts: 2126
  • FULL MENTAL
    • View Profile
    • If you like music, DON'T click here...
Re: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« Reply #13 on: 08 November, 2010, 12:01:12 AM »
See:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hotlinking#Controversial_uses_of_inline_linking

Me nae ken whit that boring stuff is talking aboot. It's all IT dept. wank- what's the bloody point of the internet if ye need to be an IT banana to work it?

That link to the wiki article you provided- is that a hotlink itself, or not?
If we want to put pics of scantily clad women on the underware thread, does that mean we have to download them, then host them at Imageshack or Photobucket first, then link from there?
Just a little rough an' tumble, Judge man!                                                                             I'm too dumb and too mean to be afraid!

Emperor

  • Administrator
  • Bionic Fingers
  • *****
  • Posts: 7869
  • Divine Wind
    • View Profile
    • Me at Tumblr
Re: Something malicious on the 'underware' thread
« Reply #14 on: 08 November, 2010, 01:20:18 AM »
See:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hotlinking#Controversial_uses_of_inline_linking

Me nae ken whit that boring stuff is talking aboot. It's all IT dept. wank- what's the bloody point of the internet if ye need to be an IT banana to work it?

That link to the wiki article you provided- is that a hotlink itself, or not?

Nope that's a link.

If we want to put pics of scantily clad women on the underware thread, does that mean we have to download them, then host them at Imageshack or Photobucket first, then link from there?

Ideally yes, unless they are already on those sites.
if I went 'round saying I was an Emperor just because some moistened bint had lobbed a scimitar at me, they'd put me away!

Fractal Friction | Tumblr | Google+