Main Menu

Hi everyone

Started by Vernoona, 10 September, 2016, 03:45:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Vernoona

Hi everyone!

I'm very new to the 2000AD/Dredd universe. I live in Australia and first got into it when the Mega Collection started being released here last year.

I got the very fancy hardcover of the Case Files 01 for my birthday a few months back, and I wanted a new writing project so I'm reading one a day and writing about it over at dailydredd.wordpress.com from the perspective of a new reader. Very grateful for any feedback!

I'm actually pretty new to comics and graphic novels in general - have patience with me!

Colin YNWA

Welcome aboard.

Sounds like a fun and interesting project. Had a nosey at the site and its a good read and its always interesting to get the perspective on some 'classic' stories from someone new to the strip.

I always worry about Case Files 1 as I know its been immensely popular (well according to Molch-R marketing droid for 2000ad) but frankly many of the strips just ain't that good if you ask me (as it goes I've just started a re-read of the Progs this year so have re-read these early stories recently). So it will be very worth while to keep in touch with the thoughts of someone approaching them with an open mind and fresh perspective.

Hope you find enough in there to keep you going and while you do I'll do my best to keep along.

Have fun.

Vernoona

Thanks Colin!

I've definitely come across a few in the first batch that are not exactly stellar - but even then I think remembering the context and time they were published they are still fun to read.

Thanks to the Mega Collection I've read some of the progs ahead and know that things get a lot more epic and intense. It's been interesting to see things right from the start, what the creators keep and change and alter as they go along. There's something very exciting about seeing a work take shape as you go along.

ZenArcade

Hello and welcome Vernoona. Z