Main Menu

Artist Wanted for 'British Showcase' Graphic Novel

Started by JoshSpiller, 17 July, 2016, 08:04:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JoshSpiller

Hi,

I'm a writer looking for an artist to draw a 10-page comic. The story has already been accepted by Markosia (http://www.markosia.com), and will be featured as one of the comics in their 'British Showcase' graphic novel.

This is an opportunity for artists to get their work professionally printed and distributed, and to add what should be an eye-catching piece to their portfolio.

The story includes:

- The setting of a modern-day city filled with skyscrapers
- A female teenage protagonist
- A sequence with a mute man speaking in sign language
- A spectacular, military aerial dogfight with fighter jets and helicopters
- And, critically, a lot of freaky alien spores and monstrous plant-human hybrids.

The story also switches between a creepy sense of horror and some more humorous sections, so as the artist you'll need to have a bit of range (although the art should lean more towards realism than cartoonishness).

Unfortunately, Markosia aren't offering any payment for this gig (I'm not getting paid either). But as this graphic novel is designed to promote aspiring British talent, it will hopefully open the door to other freelance opportunities. If nothing else, the artist will end up with a piece that demonstrates their wide range of storytelling skills, from humour to horror, from wordless dramatic action sequences to more dialogue-heavy exchanges, all within a format that bridges the gap between 5-page British anthology comics and their 22-page, more lucrative American cousins. And really, that sort of versatility can only impress future editors, can't it?

If you're interested, or would like to see a copy of the script to check it's something you're interested in, then email me at: joshua.spiller@gmail.com

If you would like to see other examples of my work, go to: joshspillercomics.tumblr.com