Main Menu

Need to upgrade grapihics card, help please

Started by Radbacker, 25 July, 2016, 01:51:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Radbacker

Okay I stupidly purchased Total War Warhammer the other day on steam and after being a complete noob and spending 2 days trying to get it to work I discovered my graphics card isn't Direct X11 compatible (I know pretty dumb error).
I currently have a Nvidia GTX280, main processor is a I7 860 2.8GHZ, running Windows 7 Premium.  I only really want to upgrade my Graphics card as I don't really have much dosh at the moment, I want to spend about A$100 - 150 I can see a couple of GTX750's about that price but being a PC luddite (I'm generally more a console gamer to avoid these issues) I'm not really sure how compatible it'll be with my computer, I do know my I7 is a 1st gen its about 6 or so years old so it runs on the old style pin set up, will I de able to just pull out my GTX280 and put in a GTX750 easily? 
I know the GTX750 is Direct X11 compatible so I will be able to run Warhammer but do you think it'll run alright without also having to upgrade the processor (which would also mean a new Motherboard!!)

Any help from someone more PC knowledgeable than me would be greatly appreciated.

CU Radbacker

Theblazeuk

Can you run this https://www.piriform.com/speccy and post?

I am not a pro or anything but I know the basics. Sadly my suspicion is that a GFX card will not be enough to let you run Total Warhammer but I couldn't be sure. I do know that you won't need a new motherboard just to replace the GFX card as it's the same slot - but I think the big question will be your CPU's ability.

The Minimum requirements:
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0Ghz/ AMD Athlon II X4 640 3.0GHz I think you are falling short here. An i7 supposedly runs more efficiently so more bang per hertz as it were, but it falls .2 ghz short of the minimum and yours is a 1st gen iteration of the chipset.....
Memory: 3 GB RAM Guessing you're at 4gb?