Main Menu

Strontium Dog - Question

Started by Rogue Judge, 07 August, 2016, 05:18:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rogue Judge

Hello, again I'm new to 2000AD and just getting started. I have read lots of Dredd so far and am working at collecting all case files, Im at #11 so far and they have been amazing. I also collected Rogue Trooper Tales of Nu Earth and really enjoyed them too (gotta love that Dave Gibbons and Cam Kennedy art!).

My question: How is Strontium Dog? I like how it is collected in Case Files type format and the art looks great (Carlos Ezquerra). Are the Agency Files worth collecting and do they collect the complete story? The reading order looks a little confusing online so far (Is the final solution part of the Agency Files and does it end there?) Also, is this is the same universe as Judge Dredd?

I just remember reading a colored reprint ages ago where he captures Hitler I think..? I remember it being awesome haha I would like to know what you guys like about the character and if you have read the collections.

Sorry for all the questions! I have really appreciated how this community has been so helpful so far, thanks everyone!

The Adventurer

A) Yes, Strontium Dog is worth reading. One of the best 2000 AD has to offer.

B) The Final Solution is the 'final' Strontium Dog story of the original run under Wagner. Other writers of.. debatable.... quality would follow it up with Strontium Dogs for a while. Eventually Wager and Ezquerra would return with Strontium Dog: The Kreller Conspiracy. Which would kick off a series of flashback tales of the main character (ignoring the Strontium Dogs material). Until finally just continuing Strontium Dog where they left off at The Final Solution, with The Life and Death of Johnny Alpha.

So you're reading order should be..

Agency Files 1-4
Final Solution
Kreeler Conspiracy
Traitor to His Kind
Blood Moon
Life and Death of Johnny Alpha
Life and Death of Johnny Alpha - Dogs of War